top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMICAH PAYTON

My Problem Solving Summer

So I started the summer by going to Lithuania on a Jewish exchange program and ended the summer with a visit to Seattle. However, what I feel is the most eventful part of my summer was the linear algebra class I took at UCLA. It was a six-week course and it was my first dive in college-level math. Unlike a lot of high school math classes that focus on concepts that can be easily visualized, this class dealt with vector space. Vector space can include the easily observable 2nd and 3rd dimension but also includes infinitely more which only can't be visualized and must be mathematically abstracted. I also felt that the class related to my interest in engineering because vectors in the second and third dimension are real things mechanical engineers have to know.


So now that the school year has started again it means a new year of engineering. This year we are going to be doing more open-ended larger projects instead of much the much smaller projects of previous years. The thing I'm most excited for this year is the JPL competition that our class will be participating in. It's going to be fun working in a group trying to accomplish the goal, and it will be very satisfying to have a finished project and potentially win an award. The problem looks fun and I hope our entire class does well.


The new school year also means applying to college because I am a senior. While this is extremely nerve-wracking I'm still very excited about going to college. I know I'll be stressed out during applications and when finding out what colleges I'll get into. I know there will be a ton of rejection from many colleges, but still, I can't help feeling excited about it. Mostly because I'm excited to go to college. Part of that excitement might come from the fact that I'll be able to study engineering much more intensively there then I can at Santa Monica High School, but I honestly don't know.


Either way, I have a lot to look forward to this year.

Recent Posts

See All

Capstone Project

My group has started working on our capstone project in earnest now. One of the things my group struggled with the most was identifying past solutions to the problem we chose. There are not many exist

The New Semester

Winter break is now over and the second semester has begun. As a senior who has already sent in my applications I have had a major source of stress removed. This semester should be a lot of fun and ho

bottom of page