top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMICAH PAYTON

My Future

When I applied to colleges just a couple of months ago, for many of my colleges I chose to apply as a computer science major. I decided fairly recently that I'd like to pursue software engineering over electrical or mechanical. I think it's somewhat of a pragmatic choice, as computer programmers are heavily in demand right now which lends itself to job security. My brother is a software engineer for the company Lyft and it seems like a great job. Even if I decide I don't want to work for a large tech company or a tech startup there are all sorts of companies that are in need of a computer programmer. I'm not inhuman though, I also want to pursue this field because I'm interested in engineering in a broader sense and computer science seems like a field in which I'll get constant feedback.


One very famous computer scientist is Sergey Brin, co-founder of Google. Although he is now retired he was the co-owner of Alphabet Inc. and before that he coded and created Google. He moved from the Soviet Union and went through the American education system eventually going to college to get an undergraduate degree in mathematics and computer science from the University of Maryland. He then continued his education by pursuing a Ph.D. in computer science at Stanford University. There he met Larry Page who is the person he would end up creating Google with.


In five words I would describe Sergey Brin as: smart, determined, rebellious, innovative, and social. I chose to look into Sergey because he is arguably one of the most successful software engineer's alive right now. He also created one of the most recognizable brands of the 21st century. I like how he was able to create something without the need for outside support. Him and his friend were able to create a product that has become increasingly prolific. I don't love the idea of creating a start-up is not appealing to me. It seems very stressful and very risky.





Recent Posts

See All

Capstone Project

My group has started working on our capstone project in earnest now. One of the things my group struggled with the most was identifying past solutions to the problem we chose. There are not many exist

The New Semester

Winter break is now over and the second semester has begun. As a senior who has already sent in my applications I have had a major source of stress removed. This semester should be a lot of fun and ho

My College Application Experience

Getting all of your college applications ready can be a very long and arduous process. When I started writing some of my essays it felt like I would never finish them, but now that i'm at the end of i

bottom of page